The No Logo festival wants to establish a new way of consuming, with a more responsible approach. That’s why the No Logo festival is involved in an eco-responsible approach with the association  A-freak-A.

The Ambitious Freak Association’s mission.

This association is based on textiles to lead concrete actions in a very paradoxical sector : as essential as clothing can be, it is often the symbol of our excessive and frenzied overconsumption. In a context of global economic tensions, AfreakA offers ecological and ethical products in order to realize the impact of our daily actions on a global scale. We try to show that economy, society and ecology cannot be separated today. Besides, A-freak-A mainly works in cooperatives located in remote parts of Senegal and which develop traditional and handmade techniques allowing them to progressively improve in order to last as long as possible.

The commitments of the festival and A-freak-A : a less futile and more useful merchandising.

The clothes (cheichs, bags, t-shirts…) offered this year at the No Logo Festival will be concrete items to show the positive impact of fair trade. The collection conceived by A-freak-A will give the opportunity to set up development programmes in cooperatives in Senegal : professional training courses, modernization of workshops and rainwater collection.

The accessories offered on the No Logo festival site come directly from these workshops, with no intermediary.

This year, the main objective is to construct a new building for the dyeing workshop in the Ndem cooperative. This building will enable workers to collect and stock rainwater in order to use it for the dyeing process. Then, this water will be sent to a waste water recycling system.

Wearing a T-shirt and its values

The No Logo T-shirts are silk-screen printed in the Pays Basque (South West of France) and come from a short supply chain which guarantees ecological and fair means of production thanks to trustworthy labels.

No Logo commits to giving 2€ on the sale of each t-shirt, and 3€ on the sale of each sweater to the A-freak-A association. The cotton used for the No Logo T-shirts comes from organic agriculture, guaranteed by the GOTS label.

The dyes and silk-screen prints are also ecological with the Eoko label.

Moreover, the No Logo T-shirts are labeled Fair Wear, guaranteeing that all the people who participated in their making worked in decent conditions and were correctly paid.

Notre démarche

En accord avec sa démarche, le festival No Logo souhaite instaurer une manière de consommer plus responsable. C’est pourquoi le festival s’engage dans une démarche éco-responsable et solidaire auprès de l’association A-freak-A.

La mission d’Ambitous Freak Association

Cette association s’appuie sur le textile pour développer des actions concrètes dans une filière où tous les paradoxes se rejoignent : quoi de plus essentiel qu’un vêtement et en même temps de plus emblématique de notre surconsommation frénétique ?

Dans ce contexte de tensions économiques globales, A-freak-A propose des produits écologiques et éthiques pour contribuer à la prise de conscience de l’impact de nos actes quotidiens à une échelle globale, en montrant que l’on ne peut pas séparer l’économique, du social ni de l’environnemental. Aussi, A-freak-A travaille principalement avec des coopératives qui sont implantées dans des zones enclavées du Sénégal en valorisant les techniques traditionnelles artisanales tout en leur permettant d’évoluer pour mieux perdurer.

Les engagements du festival et d’A-Freak-A : un merchandising plus utile et moins futile

Les vêtements (cheichs, pochettes, t-shirt…) proposés cette année par le No Logo seront des supports concrets pour illustrer les impacts positifs d’un commerce équitable et solidaire. La collection conçue par AfreakA sera l’occasion de réaliser des programmes de développement auprès des coopératives au Sénégal : formations professionnelles, modernisation des ateliers, récupération d’eau de pluie.

Les accessoires proposés par le festival No Logo proviennent directement de ces ateliers, reliant l’Afrique au No Logo sans intermédiaires.

Cette année, le projet principal consiste à construire un nouveau bâtiment pour l’atelier de teinture dans la coopérative de Ndem. Ce bâtiment va permettre de récupérer et stocker l’eau de pluie afin de l’utiliser pour la teinture, en le reliant ensuite à un système de recyclage des eaux usées.


Porter un tee-shirt et ses valeurs

Les tee-shirts du No Logo sont sérigraphiés au pays basque et proviennent d’une filière courte assurant des supports écologiques et équitables garantis par des labels de confiance.
No Logo s’engage à reverser 2€ sur chaque vente de tee-shirts et 3€ sur la vente de chaque sweat-shirt à l’association A-freak-A.

Le coton des tee-shirts du No Logo est cultivé selon les principes de l’agriculture biologique garanti par le label GOTS.

Les teintures et les sérigraphies ici sont elles aussi écologiques et labélisées Eoko Tex.

De plus, les tee-shirts du No Logo Festival seront labélisés Fair Wear pour assurer que toutes les personnes ayant contribué à leur fabrication reçoivent des rémunérations décentes et travaillent dans des conditions optimales.